Torey Lovullo, Paul Molitor win 2017 Manager of the Year Awards

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo is the National League Manager of the Year.

Lovullo guided Arizona to a 93-69 record and reached the playoffs in 2017 - the team's first postseason berth since 2011.

The D-Backs earned a wild-card spot and advanced into the divisional round of the playoffs.

How's that for a rookie campaign?

Lovullo is the third manager in Diamondbacks history to win Manager of the Year, joining Kirk Gibson in 2011 and Bob Melvin in 2007, according to ESPN Stats & Information. Dave Roberts, a runner-up this year, was Manager of the Year as a first-time manager for the Dodgers in 2016, as was Jeff Banister for the Rangers in '15 and Matt Williams for the Nationals in '14. "Minnesota last had a Manager of the Year in 2010, when Ron Gardenhire won in the Twins" last playoff season; their other Manager of the Year was Tom Kelly in 1991. The Twins lost in the one-game Wild Card playoff by the Yankees. That mark constituted an impressive 24-game improvement over 2016, when Arizona finished 69-93. He had a Hall of Fame career as a player, spending 21 seasons in the big leagues including his last three with the Twins. Updates with Molitor winning AL Manager of the Year. In fact, he is now just the second person to make the Hall of Fame as a player and then go on to become a Manager of the Year.

Cleveland's Terry Francona was second and Houston's A.J. Hinch finished third.

Francona, who won the award past year, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row. Third-place finisher A.J. Hinch of the Astros had one first-place vote, 13 second-place votes, and 12 third-place votes.

Lovullo won the honor in voting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Vanessa Coleman