MLAs vote to elect next President

In Karnataka, the electoral college comprises 28 Lok Sabha members, 12 Rajya Sabha members and 224 MLAs (with the exclusion of one nominated anglo Indian MLA). With a number of first time MLAs in the party, the legislators were also briefed about the voting procedure. They made beeline at polling centre made up by the Election Commission for voting.

Congress MLAs Ksh Biren (Lamlai A/C) who held the PWD portfolio during the previous Congress government led by chief minister O Ibobi and P Brojen of Wangjing-Tentha A/C have been officially admitted in BJP. Narendra Singh Kushwaha was the first to cast his vote while BSP's Balbir Singh Dandotia was the last. Vijayvargiya arrived at 2 pm and cast his vote, explaining he got caught-up travelling from Delhi and stopping by at Ujjain for a Mahakaal "darshan' since it was second "Sawaan Somvar (second Monday in the auspicious Hindu month of Shravan)". Counting of votes in the election will be taken up on July 20 and the result will be known the same evening - four days before the end of the term of President Pranab Mukherjee. Later, only some MLAs were remaining and one of them was strongest BJP leaders Kailash Vijayvargiya. Three MLAs belonging to BSR Congress also came along with the BJP MLAs and exercised their right in just 90 minutes of the voting.

So far, eight out of the 28 Congress legislators who won in this year's assembly elections, have joined the BJP. AAP had announced support for UPA candidate Meira Kumar, but Bains had stated that he did not want to support Congress in any way. There was tight security in and around Assembly premises.

Vanessa Coleman