Francois Named to Davey O'Brien Watch List

University of SC sophomore Jake Bentley is one of 30 players named to the Davey O'Brien Watch List, as announced by the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

For the third consecutive day, Western Kentucky quarterback Mike White has earned preseason honors. He threw for 1,420 yards and nine touchdowns in his freshman campaign. Against the Owls, he completed 25-of-31 passes for 517 yards and three touchdowns as WKU started the year with a 46-14 victory. His 6,999 career passing yards are No. 2 among Football Bowl Subdivision quarterbacks. Jim McMahon and Steve Young each won the award once, while current BYU offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Ty Detmer won the award twice.

Unlike other watch lists which feature hundreds of players, the O'Brien watch list is rather limited with just 30 quarterbacks making the cut.

Check out the other MI players who have landed on 2017 award watch lists below.

The award presented by the Davey O'Brien Foundation has been given to the nation's best quarterback every year since 1981.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 13, 2017, following the vote by the members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee.

The Dave O'Brien Award, per their website, "honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics".

The Golden Arm Award committee will announce the 15 finalists for the award in September, and the Awards dinner will be held on December 8 at the Embassy Suites Balitmore Inn Harbor and Grand.

Vanessa Coleman