Facebook will soon let you "snooze" annoying people and pages

You could also potentially use it to inject more variety in your feed: If you see posts from the same two or three people all the time, you can try snoozing them and see who else crops up in your feed in their place. After tapping on that, the user will be given the option to snooze the person for 24 hours, 7 days or 30 days along with the option to "unfollow". Facebook is reportedly testing a new "Snooze Button" feature that would let you temporarily remove these friends from your News Feed. Should you feel that this is indeed something of an over-reaction, Facebook's testing of a Snooze function may appeal to you, as it lets you put your irritating friends on a timeout.

The feature was first brought to light by a report from United States tech site TechCrunch, which uncovered "Snooze" on Facebook's desktop site in the USA. However, the unfollow option results in hiding the person permanently from your news feed.

However, Facebook would continue to show users the most important posts further down the line, reports said. Just click on the drop-down arrow in the top right of a post and there you'll see an option to either "Unfollow or Snooze". Pages and Groups may benefit from Snooze as well, as it could reduce chances of an individual unliking or leaving it altogether.

"We're testing new ways to give people control over their News Feeds so they can stay connected with the stories they find most relevant", a spokesperson told TechCrunch.

From there, you can head into the Reconnect With People You've Unfollowed section and browse through the list of people you've banished from your digital dominion.

Vanessa Coleman

Comments