Dharmendra Pradhan files nomination from Madhya Pradesh for RS poll

However, the fight will be between the third candidate of the Congress and JDS's Farooq.

The names of senior leader from Maharashtra Narayan Rane, BJP spokesman GVL Narsimha Rao, also a known psephologist-turned-politician, party's media coordinator Anil Baluni and party leader Saroj Pandey figure in the list of party's nominees for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha.

Later on Monday, ruling Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) candidate and Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad filed his papers.

The candidacy announced by the Congress is believed to be more a move not to let the TRS go unchallenged. I will follow whatever the party asks me to do.

The party might announce the name by Sunday, since the last date for submission of nomination is Monday.

But the airport authorities refused permission since re-carpeting was in progress.

Shiv Sena nominated one candidate while BJP nominated four of its candidates. All four seats are now represented by the BJP, including one by Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, who has been moved to Uttar Pradesh, since the party does not have adequate numbers to win all four seats.

Interestingly, Rajeev Chandrasekar, businessman and owner of Jupiter Capital and Republic TV, an "Independent" Rajya Sabha member for two terms, has bagged a BJP ticket from Karnataka this time and is likely to formally join the party soon. The Congress can also send two candidates. They were accompanied by CM Devendra Fadnavis and BJP state president Raosaheb Danve.

All parties have announced their list of candidates.

Six candidates filed papers for five Rajya Sabha seats from West Bengal in Kolkata. The Congress has 41 MLAs after the demise of Mr Kadam. But it has just 12 MLAs in the Telangana state assembly. Patel, however, emerged victorious. The step is being viewed as Congress' outreach towards the opposition, laying the foundation of a united front in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. His wife and son lost local elections recently. He was elected to the Rajya Sabha in June 2009 and was against re-elected in 2010. A byelection is being held to one seat in Kerala.

Yagnik, though a Congress member, has not been active with the party and is seen mostly on television debates. At present the party wise strength in the assembly is Congress-122, BJP-43, JDS-37, BSR Congress-3, KJP-2, KMP-1, independents-8, Speaker-1, nominated-1, vacant-7.

Vanessa Coleman