Counting at 7 am; Centre seeks another report on violence

The repolling was more or less peaceful and was held amidst tight security.

Police blocking the way to Ghazipur where the booths have allegedly been captured in Bhangar. "So the commission chose to order repolling in all such booths where irregularities took place", said a source.

Barring few stray incidents of violence in some booths, the re-polling in 572 polling booths in West Bengal panchayat elections was largely peaceful on Wednesday.

Post poll violence was reported from parts of Howrah district where bombs were hurled in at least 20 houses during a clash between Trinamool Congress workers and BJP activists.

Counting of votes for the panchayat polls will be held on May 17.

Addressing the media party workers at BJP headquarters in New Delhi, Prime Minister Modi said, "There is one more thing I want to talk about...the scenes from the Panchayat Elections in West Bengal".

Jhargram is the only district where there would be no re-polling. Over a dozen lives were lost in the violence.

The booths, where re-polling took place, include 63 in Murshidabad, 52 in Coochbehar, 28 in West Midnapore and 10 in Hooghly among others. On Tuesday, the West Bengal State Election Commission (WBSEC) made a decision to conduct re-polling.

They said there was little scope for recommending repolls in only a handful of booths after Monday's widespread snatching of ballot boxes, destruction of ballot papers and several other irregularities.

In the last elections for the panchayat samitis, 329 local bodies were contested with a total of 9,240 seats. Trinamool candidates were elected unopposed in 34% of seats. Stay tuned here for the live list of winners from the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC), as well as the three major Opposition parties - the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and Indian National Congress. If this was happening during Left Front rule, then the TMC government would never have come in Bengal and the chief minister would not have been the chief minister of Bengal said by the CPI (M) general secretary Yechury.

Vanessa Coleman