Bumrah, Parthiv named in 17-member Indian squad for South Africa series

India's squad for the much-awaited tour to South Africa will be named on Monday after the end of day's play between India and South Africa, a BCCI release confirmed.

On last Monday, the team India declares the 17 - member squad for its upcoming three-Test series against South Africa.

Virat Kohli, will be missing in the limited overs series against Sri Lanka, but he can be leading the Indian cricket team while Ajinkya Rahane is all set to play his deputy for the three-Test series.

Virat Kohli (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Parthiv Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Burmah, Hardik Pandya.

The main contention was whether India would go ahead with 5 seamers or 3 spinners. Bhuvenshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Umesh Yadav form the Indian pace battery.

The Test series, first of the long away season for India, will start from January 2 to January 28 next year.

The first of the three Tests will be played in Cape Town, starting 5th January, while Centurion and Johannesburg will host the next two Tests, starting 13th and 24th January respectively.

The other issue that needs addressing is preparation for the South Africa series.

The squad for T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Rahul, Shreyas, Manish, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik, W Sundar, Yuzvendra, Kuldeep, Deepak Hooda, Bumrah, M Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat.

Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and some players are ideal to be formidable bowling line up.

Vanessa Coleman